previous page: 5.2.4 South Africa: Constitutional Assembly
page up: South Africa FAQ
next page: 5.4.1 South Africa National Symbols: National anthems

5.2.5 South Africa: Provincial Governments


This article is from the South Africa FAQ, by Scott Hazelhurst scott@cs.wits.ac.za with numerous contributions by others.

5.2.5 South Africa: Provincial Governments

Names believed to be correct, July 1994.

Northern Transvaal

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly:_ TG Mashamba (ANC)

Ngoako Ramatlhodi (ANC)

Economic Affairs, Commerce and Industry
Thaba Mafumadi (ANC)

Education and Culture
Dr Aaron Motsoaledi (ANC)

Land, Housing and Local Government
J Dombo (ANC)

Agriculture and Forestry
Professor Tiny Burgers (ANC)

Environment and Water
Maris Stella Sexwale-Mabitje (ANC)

Health and Welfare
Dr Joe Phaahla (ANC)

Public Works
Dikeledi Magadzi (ANC)

Police and Protection Services
Seth Nthai (ANC)

Finance and Expenditure
Edgar Mushwana (ANC)

Public Transport
Johan Kriek (FF)


_Monarch]_ H.M. King Goodwill Zwelethini kaBhekuzulu
Provincial Cabinet

Dr Frank Mdlalose (IFP)

Finance and Lconomic Affairs
Dr Senzele Mhlungu (IFP)

Education and Culture
Dr Vincent Zulu (IFP)

Police Services
Rev Celani Mtetwa (IFP)

Housing and Local Government
Peter Miller (IFP)

Nature Conservation and Tourism
Prince Gideon Zulu (IFP)

Auxilliary Services and Traditional Affairs
Inkosi Nyanga J. Ngubane (IFP)

Dr Zweli Mkhize] (ANC)

Roads, Transportation and Traffic Control
S'bu Ndebele (ANC)

Social Welfare
Jacob Zuma] (ANC)

George Bartlett (NP)

Eastern Cape

Provincial Cabinet

Raymond Mhlaba (ANC)

Finance, Provincial Expenditure
Shepherd Mayatula (ANC)

Economic Affairs
Smuts Ngonyama (ANC)

Education and Culture
Neela Hoosain (ANC)

Police and Justice
Malizo Mpehle (ANC)

Local Govemment, Housing and Traditional Authorities
Maxwell Mamase (ANC)

Public Works
Tobile Mahlahlo (ANC)

Planning and Development
Ezra Sigwela (ANC)

Health and Welfare
Trudy Thomas (ANC) Transport] Mandisa Marasha (ANC)

Agriculture, Forestry and Water
Tertius Delport (NP)

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly]_ Gugile Nkwinti (ANC)

Free State

Provincial Cabinet

Patrick Lekota (ANC)

Finance and Expenditure
Tate Makgoe (ANC)

Education and Culture
Saki Belot (ANC)

Police Services
Lizzie Kubushe (ANC)

Public Works and Roads
Gregory Nthatisi (ANC)

Health and Welfare
Senorita Ntlabathi

Agriculture and Environmental Affairs
Cas Human (ANC)

Economic Affairs
Ace Magashule (ANC)

Local Government Management
Ouma Motsumi (ANC)

Vax Mayekiso (ANC)

Public Transport
Louis van der

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly_ Motlalepule Chabaku (ANC)


Gabriel (Tokyo) Sekwale
(ANC) Premier

Jabu Moeleketi
(ANC), Economic Affairs

Mary Metcalfe
(ANC), Education and Culture

Amos Masondo
(ANC), Health

Sakkie Blanche
(NP), Social Welfare

Dan Mofokeng
(ANC), Local Government and Housing

Sicelo Shiceko
(ANC), Urban-Rural Development and Environment

Olaus van Zyl
(NP), Public Transport and Roads

Jesse Duarte
(ANC), Safety and Security

Peter Skosana
(ANC), Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture

John Mavuso
(NP), Conservation and Agriculture

Western Cape

Provincial Cabinet

Hernus Kriel (NP)

Gerald Morkel (NP)

Finance, Expenditure and Service Commission
Kobus Meiring (NP)

Agricultural Development
Lampie Fick (NP)

Local Government and Development Planning
Peter Marais (NP)

Education, Training and Cultural Affairs
Martha Olckers (NP)

Police Services
Patrick McKenzie (NP)

Economic Affairs
Allan Boesak (ANC)

Roads, Transport and Public Works
Leonard Ramatlakane (ANC)

Health and Social Services
Ebrahim Rasoon (ANC)

Environmental Affairs, Nature Conservation and Tourism
Lerumo Kalako (ANC)

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly_: Willem Doman (NP)

Eastern Transvaal

Provincial Cabinet

Matthew Phosa (ANC)

Economic Affairs
Jabulani Mabena (ANC)

Jaques Modipane (ANC)

Local and Regional Government
January Che Masilela (ANC)

Law and Order
Steve Mabona (ANC)

Craig Padayachee (ANC)

Environmental Affairs
David Mkhwanazi (ANC)

Road and Transport
Lackson Mathebula (ANC)

David Mabuza (ANC)

Lucal Nel (NP)

Without portfolio
Steve Mbuyisa

Health and Welfare

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly:_ Mbalekelwa Ginindza (ANC)

Northern Cape

Provincial Cabinet

Manne Amsley Dipico (ANC)

Economic Affairs, Trade and Industry
Goolam Akharwaray (ANC)

Education and Culture
Tina Joemat (ANC)

Health and Welfare
Modise Matoapane (ANC)

Local Government, Housing and Land Reform
Ouneas Dikgetsi (ANC)

Police Services
Peter Gelderbloem (ANC)

Jacobus Marais (NP)

Jan Brazelle (NP)

Public Works
Peggy Hollander (NP)

Charl van Wyk (NP)

Jozef Henning (FF)

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly_: Ethne Papenfus (DP)

North West

Provincial Cabinet

Popo Molefe (ANC)

Martin Kuscus (NP)

Rocky Malebane-Metsing (ANC)

Rev Johanes Tselapedi (ANC)

Public Works
Zacharia Tolo (ANC)

Paul Sefularo (ANC)

Mamokoena Gaoretelelwe (ANC)

Satish Roopa (ANC)

Darkie Afrika (ANC)

Public Media
Riani De Wet (ANC)

Economic Affairs
Amie Venter (NP)

_Speaker of Provincial Assembly_ Jerry Thibedi (ANC)

Provincial Legislatures

Names (can be found as:

5.2.7 Salaries

                    Basic     Car         Total     Monthly
                    annual    allowance   annual    income after
                    salary    ance        salary    tax
President           575 000     115 000    784 350    34 136
Deputy-President    500 000     100 000    681 600    28 187
Provincial Premier,
Cabinet Ministers,
Speaker of NA,      392 000      78 400    470 000    24 836
President of Senate
Chairs of standing  209 000      41 800    250 800    14 205
MPs                 161 000      32 200    193 2000   11 416

Source: _Weekly Mail and Guardian_, 26 August 1994

5.3 Reference works

Suggested reference works are:
* The annual Race Relations Survey of the South African Institute of
Race Relations. The ISSN number is 0258-7246. The ISBN number of
the 1992/93 issue is 0-86982-427-9.


Continue to:

previous page: 5.2.4 South Africa: Constitutional Assembly
page up: South Africa FAQ
next page: 5.4.1 South Africa National Symbols: National anthems