lotus

previous page: 8.1. What are the Public Key Servers? (PGP)
  
page up: PGP FAQ
  
next page: 8.3. What is the syntax of the key server commands? (PGP)

8.2. What public key servers are available? (PGP)




Description

This article is from the PGP FAQ, by Jeff Licquia jalicqui@prairienet.org with numerous contributions by others.

8.2. What public key servers are available? (PGP)

The following is a list of all of the known public key servers active
as of the publication date of this FAQ. Any changes to this list
should be posted to alt.security.pgp and a copy forwarded to me for
inclusion in future releases of the alt.security.pgp FAQ.

Sites accessible via mail:

pgp-public-keys@pgp.mit.edu
Derek Atkins <warlord@mit.edu>

pgp-public-keys@pgp.iastate.edu
Michael Graff <explorer@iastate.edu>

pgp-public-keys@burn.ucsd.edu
Andy Howard <ahoward@ucsd.edu>

pgp-public-keys@fbihh.informatik.uni-hamburg.de
Vesselin V. Bontchev <bontchev@fbihh.informatik.uni-hamburg.de>

public-key-server@martigny.ai.mit.edu
Brian A. LaMacchia <public-key-server-request@martigny.ai.mit.edu>

pgp-public-keys@pgp.ox.ac.uk
Paul Leyland <pcl@ox.ac.uk>

pgp-public-keys@dsi.unimi.it
David Vincenzetti <vince@dsi.unimi.it>

pgp-public-keys@kub.nl
Teun Nijssen <teun@kub.nl>

pgp-public-keys@ext221.sra.co.jp
Hironobu Suzuki <hironobu@sra.co.jp>

pgp-public-keys@sw.oz.au
Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@sw.oz.au>

pgp-public-keys@kiae.su
<blaster@rd.relcom.msk.su>

pgp-public-keys@srce.hr
Cedomir Igaly <cigaly@srce.hr>

pgp-public-keys@pgp.pipex.net
Mark Turner <markt@pipex.net>

pgp-public-keys@goliat.upc.es
Alvar Vinacua <alvar@turing.upc.es>

pgp-public-keys@gondolin.org
<pgp-admin@gondolin.org>

Sites accessible via WWW:

http://martigny.ai.mit.edu/~bal/pks-toplev.html
http://ibd.ar.com/PublicKeys.html

Key server keyrings accessible via FTP:

ftp://pgp.iastate.edu/pub/pgp/public-keys.pgp
ftp://pgp.mit.edu/pub/keys/public-keys.pgp
ftp://burn.ucsd.edu/Crypto/
ftp://alex.sp.cs.cmu.edu/links/security/
ftp://ftp.informatik.uni-hamburg.de/pub/virus/misc/
ftp://ftp.dsi.unimi.it/pub/security/crypt/PGP/
ftp://jpunix.com/pub/PGP/

The following key servers are no longer in operation:

pgp-public-keys@phil.utmb.edu
pgp-public-keys@proxima.alt.za
pgp-public-keys@demon.co.uk

In addition to the "traditional" keyservers, there is a commercial key
registry in operation at four11.com. Four11 Directory Services is set
up primarily as a directory service to assist in searching for people
or groups. Members of the service may have their key certified by
Four11 and placed on their server; a key signature from Four11
indicates that you have met their signing requirements. At the time
of this writing, they offer "SLED Silver Signatures", which require
identification of the key holder through one of the following:

- a mailed or faxed driver's license
- a mailed or faxed copy of a passport
- payment for services with a preprinted personal check which cleared

Send mail to info@four11.com or connect to http://www.four11.com/ for
more information on SLED/Four11 or to search their server. You can
request keys from their key server by sending E-mail to key@four11.com
or by fingering <email-addr>@publickey.com. Their current
certification keys may be retrieved by sending mail to
key-pgp-silver@sled.com or by looking up "SLED" on the other
keyservers.

 

Continue to:













TOP
previous page: 8.1. What are the Public Key Servers? (PGP)
  
page up: PGP FAQ
  
next page: 8.3. What is the syntax of the key server commands? (PGP)