This article is from the Magic: The Gathering Rules FAQ, by Patrik Linell (pls@claymore.nu) with numerous contributions by others.
The 'owner' of a card is the player who brought it to the game,
and who started the game with it in his library. The 'owner' of a token is
the player who controlled the spell or ability that created it. (e.g.:
Waiting in the Weeds is a spell that creates Cat tokens under the control
of various players... but the caster of Waiting in the Weeds owns them all.)
 
Continue to: