This article is from the Vegetarianism FAQ, by firstname.lastname@example.org (Michael Traub) with numerous contributions by others.
Kosher: Made according to a complex set of Jewish dietary laws.
Does not imply VEGAN in any case. Does not imply OVO-LACTO
VEGETARIAN in any case. Even KOSHER products containing
milk products may contain some types of animals which are
not considered 'meat'.
Pareve/Parve: One category in KOSHER dietary laws. Made without
meat or milk products or their derivatives. Eggs and
true fish are pareve, shellfish are not.
Nondairy: Does not have enough percentage of milkfat to be called
dairy. May actually contain milk or milk derivatives.
Nonmeat: Made without meat. May include eggs, milk, cheese.
Sometimes even included animal fats, seafood, fish, fowl.