lotus



previous page: 161. Where Is the Documentation?
  
page up: Linux FAQ
  
next page: 163. What News Groups Are There for Linux?

162. Where Is the Linux Stuff on the World Wide Web?




Description

This article is from the Frequently Asked Questions for Linux, the Free/Open Source UNIX-like operating system kernel that runs on many modern computer systems. Maintained by David C. Merrill with numerous contributions by others. (v1.0).

162. Where Is the Linux Stuff on the World Wide Web?

A: In addition to the Linux Documentation Project Home Page: http://tldp.org, there are many pages that provide beginning and advanced information about Linux.

These two pages provide a good starting point for general Linux information: Linux International's Home Page, at http://www.li.org, and the Linux Online's Linux Home Page at http://www.linux.org.

Both of these pages provide links to other sites, information about general information, distributions, new software, documentation, and news.

Documentation for kernel developers is on-line: http://kernelbook.sourceforge.net.

The tutorial, Unix is a Four Letter Word..., is located at http://people.msoe.edu/~taylor/4ltrwrd/. It is a general introduction to Unix operating systems and is not Linux specific.

Additionally, here is a certainly incomplete list of Web pages devoted to Linux:

*AboutLinux.com: http://www.aboutlinux.com *Adventures in Linux Programming: http://members.tripod.com/rpragana/ *Dave Central Linux Software Archive: http://linux.davecentral.com *debianHELP http://www.debianhelp.org *Erlug Webzine (Italian): http://www.erlug.linux.it *Free Unix Giveaway List: http://visar.csustan.edu/giveaway.html Lists offers of free Linux CDs. Also available via E-mail: axel@visar.csustan.edu, with the Subject: "send giveaway_list" *Information on Linux in corporate environments: http:// www.smartstocks.com/linux.html *Jeanette Russo's Linux Newbie Information: http://www.stormloader.com/ jrusso2/index.html *JustLinux.com: http://www.justlinux.com *Linux Cartoons: http://www.cse.unsw.edu.au/~conradp/linux/cartoons/ *LinuxArtist.org: http://www.linuxartist.org *Linuxinfor.com - Online Linux Resources: http://www.linuxinfor.com *linuXChiX.org: http://www.linuxchix.org *LinuxDevices.com: The Embedded Linux Portal: http://www.linuxdevices.com *Linux Educational Needs Posting Page: http://www.slip.net/~brk/ linuxedpp.htm *Linux in Business: Case Studies: http://www.bynari.com/collateral/ case_studies.html *Linux Hardware Database Laptop Superguide: http://lhd.zdnet.com/db/ superguide.php3?catid=18 *Linux Inside: http://linuxinside.org *Linux Links: http://www.linuxlinks.com *Linux Memory Management Home Page: http://humbolt.geo.uu.nl/Linux-MM/ *Linux Newbie Project: http://kusma.hypermart.net/ *Linux on the Thinkpad 760ED: http://www.e-oasis.com/linux-tp.html *LinuxOrbit: http://www.linuxorbit.com *Linux Parallel Port Home Page: http://www.torque.net/linux-pp.html *Linux MIDI & Sound Applications: http://sound.condorow.net *Linux Start: http://www.linuxstart.com *Linux Tips and Tricks Page: http://www.patoche.org/LTT/ *Linux Today PR: http://www.linuxpr.com *Mandrakeuser.Org: http://mandrakeuser.org *My Linux Contributions by Richard Gooch: http://www.atnf.csiro.au/~rgooch/linux/ *Micro Channel Linux Web Page: http://www.dgmicro.com/mca/ *Parallel port scanners and SANE: http://www2.prestel.co.uk/hex/ scanners.html *Pascal Central: http://www.pascal-central.com *PegaSoft Portal: http://www.vaxxine.com/pegasoft/portal/ *PocketLinux. http://www.pocketlinux.com *Red Hat and ISDN4Linux: http://www.webideal.de *SearchLinux: http://www.searchlinux.com/ *The Free Linux CD Project: http://www.freelinuxcd.org *The Site for People Learning Perl: http://learn.perl.org *USB Linux Home Page: http://peloncho.fis.ucm.es/~inaky/uusbd-www/ *VLUG: The Virtual Linux Users Group: http://www.vlug.com

Searching for Linux on Web Search Engines will provide copious references to Linux Web sites. Try:

*Yahoo! http://www.yahoo.com/ *Altavista http://www.altavista.com/ *Google http://www.google.com/

Google also has a Linux-specific section at http://www.google.com/linux/.

Further information about about Web search engines is in the Web and Internet Search Engine Faq: http://www.infobasic.com/pagefaq.html.

Refer also to the answer for: What Other FAQ's and Documentation Are There for Linux?.

 

Continue to:















TOP
previous page: 161. Where Is the Documentation?
  
page up: Linux FAQ
  
next page: 163. What News Groups Are There for Linux?