lotus



previous page: Woodworking FAQ Collection 4
  
page up: Crafts-related Articles
  
next page: Textiles FAQ

Woodworking FAQ Collection 5



Frequently Asked Questions about woodworking related topics

Woodworking FAQ Collection 5 was written by multiple authors

-01 Belt Sanders
From: jbuffum@apollo.COM (Jeffrey Buffum)...
-02 Re: Belt Sanders
From: ron@topaz.rutgers.edu (Ron Natalie)...
-03 Re: Belt Sanders
From: lance@batcomputer.tn.cornell.edu (Norman Lalancette)...
-04 Re: Belt Sanders
From: phil@hpcilzb.HP.COM (Phil Ritchey)...
-05 Re: Belt Sanders
From: bellas@ttidca.TTI.COM (Pete Bellas)...
-06 Re: Belt Sanders
From: zimmerm@urbsdc.Urbana.Gould....
-07 advice on belt sanders
From: MCSC@YaleVM.YCC.Yale....
-08 Belt Sanders
From: dbarnes@garth.UUCP (Dave Barnes)...
-09 Re: Belt Sanders
From: stampe@uhccux.uhcc.hawaii.edu (David Stampe)...
-10 Belt Sanders
From: dbarnes@garth.UUCP (Dave Barnes)...
-11 Re: Belt Sanders
From: ron@ron.rutgers.edu (Ron Natalie)...
-12 Re: Belt Sanders
From: phil@hpcilzb.HP.COM (Phil Ritchey)...
-13 Rockwell Belt Sander
From: markat@lll-lcc.UUCP (Mark Tassinari)...
-14 Combination disk/belt sanders
From: joek@cbnewsm.ATT.COM (joseph.kovalchick)...
-15 Re: Combination disk/belt sanders
From: parnass@cbnewsc.ATT.COM (Bob Parnass, AJ9S)...
-16 AEG belt sander
From: bds@mbunix.mitre.org (Smith)...
-17 Re: electric sanders
From: bill@fedeva.UUCP (Bill Daniels)...
-18 Re: electric sanders
From: bds@mbunix.mitre.org (Smith)...
-19 About sanders
From: bill@fedeva.UUCP (Bill Daniels)...
-20 Belt sander
From: tombs@ee.rochester.edu (Thomas Tombs)...
-21 Re: Belt sander
From: sgs8r@hagar5.acc.Virginia.EDU (Steve Strickland)...
-22 belt sander recommendation
From: drdale@cbnewsc.att.com (dennis.r.dale)...
-23 Re: belt sander recommendation
From: bds@mitre.org (Barry D. Smith)...
-24 Re: Belt sander
From: cohill@vtserf.cc.vt.edu (Andrew M. Cohill)...
-25 Re: Belt sander
From: leo@Tandem.COM (Leo Hejza)...
-26 Re: Belt sander
From: bamford@cbnewsd.att.com (harold.e.bamford)...
-27 Re: Belt sander
From: philn@hprmokg.HP.COM (Phil Nielsen)...
-28 Re: Belt sander
From: bryanw@hprnd.rose.hp.com (Bryan C. Wright)...
-29 need advice on buying belt sander
From: guest@PEDEV.Columbia.NCR.COM (Network guest user)...
-30 What extra I get with the Elu 3X21 belt sander over Ryobi 3X21
From: smp@cs.wvu.wvnet.edu (Shailesh M. Potnis)...
-31 Re: ? on belt sanders
From: jbuffum@apollo.HP.COM (Jeffrey Buffum)...
-32 Re: ? on belt sanders
From: bds@linus.mitre.org (Barry D. Smith)...
-33 Re: Recommendations for a belt sander
From: dave@hpdmd48.boi.hp.com (Dave Fujii)...
-34 Re: Opinions Sought....
From: brett@cayman.AMD.COM (Brett Stewart)...
-35 Summery: Belt Sanders (RE: Opinions Sought...)
From: article@tc.fluke.COM (John F. Berkey)...
-36 Re: need belt sander recomendation
From: wood@rtsg.mot.com (Dan Wood)...
-37 Re: Need advice on problems with a sander
From: pls@sortac....
-38 Thanks for Sander info!!
From: res@ihlpl.UUCP (Rich Strebendt @ AT&T Information Systems -...
-39 Pondering Palm Sanders
From: carl@atexnet.UUCP (Carl Scholz)...
-40 Re: Ponder Palm Sanders
From: mlennon@roadking.east.sun.com (Matt Lennon)...
-41 Re: Pondering Palm Sanders
From: hamlow@ozvax.WV.TEK.COM (Paul Hamlow)...
-42 Re: Pondering Palm Sanders
From: kagenski@apollo.COM (Joe Kagenski)...
-43 sander stand suggestions needed
From: bill@uhccux.uhcc.hawaii.edu (William J. King)...
-44 Re: sander stand suggestions needed
From: mike@cream.cs.wisc....
-45 Orbital Sander
From: khw@hardy.hdw.csd.harris....
-46 Grizzly grinder/sander experience
From: colwell@mfci.UUCP (Robert Colwell)...
-47 Re: Orbital Sander
From: cooper@ncrorl.Orlando.NCR.COM (Bob Cooper)...
-48 Re: Orbital Sander
From: val@swamps.UUCP (Val Christian)...
-49 Re: Orbital Sander
From: bergman@m2c.m2c.org (Michael Bergman)...
-50 Re: Orbital Sander
From: corfmanr@maillot-juane.UUCP (Russ Corfman)...
-51 Orbital Sander
From: craig@Think.COM (Craig Stanfill)...
-52 Re: Orbital Sander
From: karl@MorningStar.Com (Karl Fox)...
-53 electric sanders
From: steiner@topaz.rutgers.edu (Dave Steiner)...
-54 Re: electric sanders
From: phil@hpcilzb.HP.COM (Phil Ritchey)...
-55 Re: electric sanders
From: bill@fedeva.UUCP (Bill Daniels)...
-56 About sanders
From: bill@fedeva.UUCP (Bill Daniels)...
-57 Homemade Disc Sander
From: brianr@phred.UUCP (Brian Reese)...
-58 Re: Homemade Disc Sander
From: mckim@sdd.hp.com (Jim McKim)...
-59 Re: Homemade Disc Sander
From: mckim@sdd.hp.com (Jim McKim)...
-60 Re: Palm Sander Advice
From: rgb@cbnewsj.att.com (richard.bantel)...
-61 Re: Palm sanders and sanders in general
From: marshall@wind55.seri.gov (Marshall L. Buhl)...
-62 Re: Palm Sander Advice
From: avery@attdso.att.com (Bob Avery)...
-63 Re: Re: CR bashing (was: Palm Sander Advice)
From: pdbain@bwdls58.bnr.ca (Peter Bain)...
-64 Belt/Disc Sander questions
From: barrya@scout.East.Sun.COM (Barry Andreasen - Sun BOS Hardware)...
-65 Re: No recommendations for a sander? :(
From: Ken Burner ...
-66 Re: Finish Sanders
From: brooksp@hpcc01.corp.hp.com (Peter Brooks)...
-67 Re: Finish Sanders
From: osan@cbnewsb.cb.att.com (Mr. X)...
-68 Re: Finish Sanders
From: king@hplvec.LVLD.HP.COM (Phil King)...
-69 Re: Finish Sanders
From: wtc@cbnewsl.cb.att.com (william.cox)...
-70 Re: Random Orbital Sander vs. Palm Sander
From: dsr@luke.mitre.org (Douglas S. Rand)...
-71 Re: Random Orbital Sander vs. Palm Sander
From: dave@hpdmd48.boi.hp.com (Dave Fujii)...
-72 Re: New toy
From: patter@dasher.uucp (24224-guthrie)...
-73 Re: Re: New toy
From: pauld@hpdmd48.boi.hp.com (Paul Davis)...
-74 Re: New toy
From: guido@blink.att.com (Guido Bertocci)...
-75 Re: New toy
From: rich@theophilus.msfc.nasa.gov (Rich Krum)...
-76 Porter Cable sander on NYW
From: lances@hpwale.hp.com (Lance Smith)...
-77 Re: Porter Cable sander on NYW
From: bds@mbunix.mitre.org (Smith)...
-78 Porter Cable sander
From: phil@pepsi.amd.com (Phil Ngai)...
-79 Re: Porter Cable sander
From: lances@hpwale.hp.com (Lance Smith)...
-80 Re: Porter Cable sander
From: mclean@unix.cis.pitt.edu (Stuart Mclean)...
-81 Re: Porter Cable sander
From: phil@pepsi.amd.com (Phil Ngai)...
-82 Re: Porter Cable sander
From: phil@pepsi.amd.com (Phil Ngai)...
-83 Re: Porter Cable sander
From: mls@mintaka.mlb.semi.harris.com (Mark Servilio)...
-84 Re: Porter Cable sander
From: phil@pepsi.amd.com (Phil Ngai)...
-85 Porter Cable Random orbit sander. Freud biscuit joiner.
From: leo@tandem.com (Leo Hejza)...
-86 Re: Belt sander
From: leo@Tandem.COM (Leo Hejza)...
-87 Re: Belt sander
From: bamford@cbnewsd.att.com (harold.e.bamford)...
-88 Random Orbit Sanders... which one to buy?
From: jim@jagmac2.gsfc.nasa.gov (Jim Jagielski)...
-89 Re: Random Orbit Sanders... which one to buy?
From: cohill@vtserf.cc.vt.edu (Andrew M. Cohill)...
-90 Re: Random Orbit Sanders... which one to buy?
From: toga@banyan.UUCP (James Toga@Eng@Banyan)...
-91 Re: Random Orbit Sanders... advice and experience sought.
From: dsr@luke.mitre.org (Douglas S. Rand)...
-92 Re: Random Orbit Sanders... advice and experience sought.
From: xm50@sdcc12.ucsd.edu (don bowmen)...
-93 Re: Random Orbit Sanders... advice and experience sought.
From: dbarnes@public.BTR.COM (David B. Barnes dbarnes@btr.com)...
-94 Random Orbit sander
From: jchen@flash.bellcore.com (Jason Chen)...
-95 Re: Random Orbit sander
From: hastings@cbnewsd.att.com (alan.r.hastings)...
-96 Re: Random Orbit sander
From: bamford@cbnewsd.att.com (harold.e.bamford)...
-97 Re: Random Orbit sander
From: avery@attdso.att.com (Bob Avery)...
-98 Re: Random Orbital Sander
From: johnson@rust.zso.dec.com (Steve Johnson)...
-99 Re: Random Orbital Sander
From: jchen@flash.bellcore.com (Jason Chen)...
-100 Re: Orbital and Belt Sanders
From: kevins@chinacat.osf.org (Kevin Sullivan)...
-101 Bosch obital sander
From: dls@wuee1.wustl.edu (Donald L. Snyder)...
-102 any experience with Ryobi random orbit sander
From: rhaar@albert.cs.gmr.com (Robert L. Haar CS50)...
-103 Re: any experience with Ryobi random orbit sander
From: dgbedros@vlsi.waterloo.edu (David Bedrosian)...
-104 Re: Belt Sander vs Random Orbital
From: stevem@gold.gvg.tek.com (Steve Miller)...
-105 Re: Random Orbital Sander vs. Palm Sander
From: dsr@luke.mitre.org (Douglas S. Rand)...
-106 Re: Random Orbital Sander vs. Palm Sander
From: dave@hpdmd48.boi.hp.com (Dave Fujii)...
-107 Re: Porter Cable Palm/Random Orbit Sander info wanted.
From: doshay@ursa.arc.nasa.gov (David Doshay)...
-108 Re: Porter Cable Palm/Random Orbit Sander info wanted.
From: mark@thor.asteroids (Mark Bakke)...
-109 Re: Porter Cable Palm/Random Orbit Sander info wanted.
From: doshay@ursa.arc.nasa.gov (David Doshay)...
-110 Re: Pourter Cable Palm/Ramdom Orbit sander info wanted
From: Lawrence E. Rondot ...
-111 Re: Porter Cable Palm/Random Orbit Sander info wanted.
From: talaga@e5sb.osdhw.syr.ge.com (dave talaga x2752)...
-112 Craftsman / Ryobi Random Orbital Sander
From: mt10265@medtronic.COM (Mike Tollinger)...
-113 Re: Recommendations for random orbital sander
From: alexande@genghis.borland.com (Mark Alexander)...
-114 Re: Recommendations for random orbital san
From: apoyner@as.arizona.edu (Tony Poyner)...
-115 Re: Recommendations for random orbital sander
From: townsend@ (Paul Townsend)...
-116 Re: Recommendations for random orbital sander
From: RYLV80@waccvm.corp.mot.com (William Mohrman)...
-117 Re: Recommendations for random orbital sander
From: doshay@ursa.arc.nasa.gov (David Doshay)...
-118 Re: Recommendations for random orbital sander
From: tlp00@climb.as (Tibor Polgar)...
-119 Reciprocal Saws
From: nivek@rover.ri.cmu.edu (Kevin Dowling)...
-120 Re: Reciprocal Saws
From: bellas@ttidca.TTI.COM (Pete Bellas)...
-121 reciprocating saw opinions sought
From: pgmag@cbnewsg.cb.att.com (pgm@speedy.att.com.us)...
-122 Re: reciprocating saw opinions sought
From: bellas@soldev.tti.com (Pete Bellas)...
-123 Re: reciprocating saw opinions sought
From: ken@mizar.tcs.com (Ken Emery)...
-124 Re: reciprocating saw opinions sought
From: tim@intrepid.gsfc.nasa.gov (Tim Seiss)...
-125 Re: reciprocating saw opinions sought
From: games@max.u.washington....
-126 Scroll Saws
From: wargo@sdics.ucsd.EDU (Dave Wargo)...
-127 Scroll Saw
From: lynng@copper.TEK.COM (Lynn Gurske)...
-128 Re: scroll saw
From: gmv@cblpf.ATT.COM (G. Michael Vrbanac)...
-129 Re: scroll saw
From: keithh@rosevax.Rosemount.COM (Keith Holmquist)...
-130 Scroll Saw question
From: bs@augusta.UUCP (Burch Seymour)...
-131 Grizzly's scroll saw
From: colwell@mfci.UUCP (Robert Colwell)...
-132 Re: Grizzly's scroll saw
From: sland@padeds.harvard.edu (Steve Strickland)...
-133 What scroll saw do you recommend?
From: parnass@cbnewse.ATT.COM (Bob Parnass, AJ9S)...
-134 Boice Crane scrollsaw
From: dsill@ophiuchi.nswc.navy.mil (Dave Sill)...
-135 Scroll Saw Recommendation
From: tatem@m2.csc.ti.com (Joe Tatem)...
-136 scroll saw advice wanted
From: smb@ulysses.att.com (Steven M. Bellovin)...
-137 Re: scroll saw advice wanted
From: colwell@mfci.UUCP (Robert Colwell)...
-138 Re: scroll saw advice wanted
From: bergman@m2c.m2c.org (Michael Bergman)...
-139 Re: Scrollsaws
From: garyl@Sunny_Oregon.WV.TEK.COM (Gary Laroff)...
-140 Scroll Saw Recommendations Wanted
From: dbarnes@garth.UUCP (Dave Barnes)...
-141 Re: Scroll Saw Recommendations Wanted
From: xm50@sdcc12.ucsd.edu (don bowmen)...
-142 Re: Scroll Saw Recommendations Wanted
From: flake@prdmgt.Columbia.NCR.COM (Joe Flake)...
-143 Scoll Saws
From: tonyn@sidd.SanDiego.NCR.COM (Tony Nevarez)...
-144 Scroll Saw
From: LNF@psuvm.psu....
-145 Re: Scrollsaws
From: stern@nssdca.gsfc.nasa.gov (Dave Stern)...
-146 Scroll Saw Question
From: dbarnes@public.BTR.COM (David B. Barnes dbarnes@btr.com)...
-147 Re: Scroll Saw Question
From: pollack@dendrite.cis.ohio-state.edu (Jordan B Pollack)...
-148 Re: Scroll Saw Question
From: bob@rancor.UUCP (Bob Willcox)...
-149 Re: Scrollsaw question
From: gsm@sequoia.execu.com (Scott Mather)...
-150 Scroll saw summary
From: leut@jack.cs.wisc.edu (Scott T. Leutenegger)...
-151 Re: Scroll Saws
From: parnass@ihlpy.att.com (Robert S Parnass)...
-152 Re: Scroll Saws
From: jcw1@Ra.MsState.Edu (Jeff C. Wilson)...
-153 Scrollsawing
From: mcg@hound.att....
-154 Scrollsawing
From: stern@nssdcb.gsfc.nasa.gov (Dave Stern)...
-155 Dust Collection, Heating
From: kb13+@andrew.cmu.edu (Ken Burner) ...
-156 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: spf@moss.ATT....
-157 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: rbl@nitrex.UUCP ( Dr. Robin Lake )...
-158 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: spf@moss.ATT....
-159 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: pgf@mtung.ATT.COM (Paul Fox)...
-160 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: sjh@arthur.cs.purdue.edu (Steve Holmes)...
-161 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: rbl@nitrex.UUCP ( Dr. Robin Lake )...
-162 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: alex@hpihoah.HP.COM (Thomas Alexander)...
-163 Re: Dust Collection, Heating
From: franusic@drivax.UUCP (Mike Franusich)...
-164 Suggestions for heating a shop.
From: townsend@handel.mpr.ca (Paul Townsend)...
-165 Re: Suggestions for heating a shop.
From: frye@cerl.uiuc.edu (G. David Frye)...
-166 Re: Suggestions for heating a shop.
From: billf@hpcvlx.cv.hp.com (Bill F. Faus)...
-167 Shop Heating
From: stanj@hpnmdla.HP.COM (Stan Jaffe)...
-168 Re: Shop Heating
From: bryan@wuwei.sybase.com (Bryan Cooper)...
-169 Re: Shop Heating
From: irwin@m.cs.uiuc....
-170 Re: Shop Heating
From: wrp@biochsn.acc.Virginia.EDU (William R. Pearson)...
-171 Re: Shop Heating
From: kassover@jupiter.crd.ge.com (David Kassover)...
-172 Re: Shop Heating
From: jeq@i88.isc.com (Jonathan E. Quist)...
-173 Woodshop Heaters
From: shaw@hpfcdj.HP.COM (Shaw Moldauer)...
-174 Re: Woodshop Heaters
From: smb@ulysses.att.com (Steven Bellovin)...
-175 Re: Woodshop Heaters
From: stefaniw@katahdin.rtp.dg.com (Mark Stefaniw)...
-176 Re: Woodshop Heaters
From: sgs8r@hagar5.acc.Virginia.EDU (Steve Strickland)...
-177 Re: Dangers of sawdust + electric heat.
From: cohill@vtserf.cc.vt.edu (Andrew M. Cohill)...
-178 Re: heater for garage/workshop
From: Jeff Roberts ...
-179 Re: Re: heater for garage/workshop
From: doshay@ursa.arc.nasa.gov (David Doshay)...
-180 Re: Portable heaters in shop
From: sgs8r@kelvin.seas.Virginia.EDU (Steve Strickland, sgs8r@virginia.edu)...
-181 ASTM Toy Standard
From: Kraig Eno ...
-182 Consumer Safety Specification on Toy Safety (ASTM Standard)
ASTM Standard For ...
-183 Consumer Safety Specification on Toy Safety Annexes
these are useful comments so I'll type them out....
-184 Consumer Safety Specification on Toy Safety: Relevant Standards Organizations and Spec Numbers
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)...
-185 Consumer Safety Specification on Toy Safety: Helpful Replies From The Net
From: Jordan B Pollack ...
-186 The blurfl FAQ
Over the course of 1995, there were two separate threads ...
-187 rec.woodworking Electric Motors Frequently asked Questions
-188 rec.woodworking Frequently Requested Tool Reviews
From: roche@cs.rochester.edu (James Roche)...
-189 Where to get back issues of magazines mentioned:
American
-190 Which Cheap Table-Saw should I Buy!?
Art Mulder (art.mulder@ualberta.ca) (http://www.ualberta.ca/~amulder/)...
-191 A Real Woodworking Workbench (tm)
Art Mulder (art.mulder@ualberta.ca) (http://www.ualberta.ca/~amulder/)...
-192 Hey, I just wanna build a cheap bench, what are my options?
Here are a few workbench-related postings from rec.woodworking ...
-193 Re: What's the best benchtop material?
From: Thomas Gauldin 27 Apr 1995 ...
-194 Re: What's the best benchtop material?
From: John McLellan 27 Apr 1995 ...
-195 Re: Douglas Fir source for workbench?
From Bennett Leeds 15 Feb ...
-196 Re: Workbench material
From: Heartbreak Kid 27 Dec 1995 ...
-197 The workbench: A Bit About Vises.
The Workbench Book also has some good information about vises....
-198 The workbench References:
Landis, Scott. The workbench book, Taunton Press, c1987,...









TOP
previous page: Woodworking FAQ Collection 4
  
page up: Crafts-related Articles
  
next page: Textiles FAQ